The Gift that is always needed but often overlooked…

As a Mom I can tell you that quite often I hear the words, “I need/get me/I want….” (you get the idea).  I can also share with you that one of the very biggest lessons in my house is centered around giving, respect and manners.  So will it come to any surprise to you that my nearly 2 year old has better manners than my 8 year old?

I’m probably going to get a little “deep” here but I think our society has leaned way to the right on “take care of YOU” or “You are the Most Important Person to YOU”!  And while I believe there is truth to that statement, I also feel that helping one another and showing gratitude is part of “taking care of you”; in this sense the you being your soul.

Stacey Bradshaw makes the most elegant bangles Click here to check them out.
Stacey Bradshaw makes the most elegant bangles Click here to check them out.

Recently I joined a fabulous group of women from the media outlet cupcakeMAG.  This online free magazine from ISSUU features super cute very trendy and stylish items from several small business Mamas around the country.  Clearly I needed Artizenbox to be a part of this HOT publication.  I mean they featured amazing celebrities like Tori SpellingJessica AlbaSarah Jessica Parker and Lauren Conrad (just to name drop a few, *wink*).  I was totally enamored.  But my favorite thing that I found in my new honeymoon collaboration is this

UNBELIEVABLE “tribe” of Mom Entrepreneurs that are supporting one another, rooting for each other, motivating and MENTORING one another.

So today I find myself taking note from Thomas S. Monson,

“Having gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a gift and not giving it”

reminding me to be thoughtful and gracious just as these newly found mom friends have done for me without knowing me at all.

Thank you Stacey and so many other amazing new Cupcake Mama’s for making the journey even more amazing with your kindness and support!!!

Every time I smell that perfume, I’m reminded of her gift to me

As I sit here and write this blog I am flooded by emotions and memories.  I am definitely a scents memory person.  In high school, my current boyfriend would absolutely not be allowed to wear the same scent as my previous one.  The smell of Jasmin blossoms will always remind me of the hotel I stayed at in Arizona while working with L’Oréal Fragrances.  And I was far more particular about my perfume selection for my wedding day than my shoes (sounds kind of silly now that I tell you all out loud).  So in saying all this you can begin to understand how it touched me to hear a friend say recently, “Every time I smell my Grandma’s perfume I’m reminded of the confidence and support she gave to
me.”
I recently had the pleasure to meet a fabulous mama named Inez.  Inez is the owner of G & L Chic shop
(click here to check out her sweet shop)  and recently her best friend/grandma was delivered
up to heaven.  Listening to Inez talk about how her Grandma motivated her to open
her shop and was always her biggest supporter and fan moved me to tears.

glchicshop

I so often think about the amazing people that have touched my life with their inspiration and support.  Guidance and comfort can come in so many different forms; an embrace, a nod, a well written note, a speech and sometimes the more obscure things, like a familiar smell of a motivating past friend right at the moment you need it most.

I am so grateful for these gifts in all their forms and I believe Inez was a gift to me: reminding me to hold close the memories of those who encouraged me.

Warm Wishes Always.

This post is written with fond remembrance of Ida Silva (March 28 – August 2015) and all the loved ones who have touched and continue to push you to live out your dreams.

-Bench under a Willow tree painting is credited to Kim Stenberg